The Dance (1997)


The Dance is a live performance album. Recorded over three nights (May 22-24, 1997) on a soundstage in Burbank, California, The Dance commemorates the 20th anniversary of the release of Rumours, with performances of many of those songs, including the b-side “Silver Springs.” It features the quintessential 1975 Fleetwood Mac lineup of Lindsey Buckingham, Mick Fleetwood, Christine McVie, John McVie, and Stevie Nicks.

Warner Bros. released The Dance on CD and cassette on Tuesday, August 19, 1997. With the help of an MTV broadcast and promotional singles (“The Chain,” “Landslide,” and “Silver Springs”), the album reached No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart. As a commercial single, “Landslide” reached number 51 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart, 22 years after its initial release. Warner Bros. released the DVD of The Dance featuring all 22 songs on November 11, 1997. Fleetwood Mac supported The Dance with a North American arena tour.

In March 2000, the RIAA certified The Dance 5X platinum for the shipment of five million units to retailers.


  1. The Chain
  2. Dreams
  3. Everywhere
  4. Gold Dust Woman
  5. I’m So Afraid
  6. Temporary One (new song)
  7. Bleed to Love Her (new song)
  8. Gypsy
  9. Big Love
  10. Go Insane
  11. Landslide
  12. Say You Love Me
  13. You Make Loving Fun
  14. My Little Demon
  15. Silver Springs
  16. Over My Head
  17. Rhiannon
  18. Sweet Girl (new song)
  19. Go Your Own Way
  20. Tusk
  21. Don’t Stop
  22. Songbird

Photo Gallery