Stevie Nicks

The Other Side of the Mirror (1989)

The Other Side of the Mirror is Stevie Nicks’ fourth solo recording, a concept album inspired by Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Driven by English producer Rupert Hines’ keyboard arrangements, The Other Side of the Mirror (1989) is a sonic departure from the signature rock sound that characterized Stevie’s earlier solo work, featuring a more whimsical sound.

Pianist Bruce Hornsby (“Two Kinds of Love,” “Juliet”) and saxophonist Kenny G. (“Two Kinds of Love,” “Alice”) also perform on the album. Stevie also covered Johnny Cash’s 1958 song “I Still Miss Someone (Blue Eyes),” offering a reggae-inspired rendition.


On May 11, 1989*, Modern Records released CD, cassette, and vinyl versions of The Other Side of the Mirror. The album debuted at No. 10 on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart and produced the single “Rooms on Fire,” reaching No. 1 song on the US Album Rock chart and No. 16 on US Pop Singles.

Modern Records heavily promoted the album overseas, which led to Stevie touring Europe for the first time as a solo artist. As a result, “Rooms on Fire” became an international hit in Germany (#46), the Netherlands (#15), and the UK (#16). The song also reached the Top 40 in Australia (#23).

In Japan, the album included the 7″ Remix/Edit of “Rooms on Fire” and the bonus track “Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You” from Stevie Nicks Live at Red Rocks.

*Some sources list May 9, 1989 as the official release date.


  1. Rooms on Fire
  2. Long Way to Go
  3. Two Kinds of Love (Duet with Bruce Hornsby)
  4. Ooh My Love
  5. Ghosts
  6. Whole Lotta Trouble
  7. Fire Burning
  8. Cry Wolf
  9. Alice
  10. Juliet
  11. Doing the Best I Can (Escape from Berlin)
  12. I Still Miss Someone (Blue Eyes)