The Wild Heart (1983)

The Wild Heart is Stevie Nicks’ second solo album, which features the hit singles “Stand Back” and “If Anyone Falls.” It also has notable collaborations with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (“I Will Run to You”), singer-songwriter Sandy Stewart (“Nightbird”), and an uncredited musical contribution from Prince (“Stand Back”).

CD Description

(L-R: Sharon Celani, Sandy Stewart, Lori Perry, Stevie Nicks)

The Wild Heart is a Nicks’s successor to Bella Donna, her 1981 solo debut, and it features some of the same cast that helped make Bella Donna a two million seller. Tom Petty, who dueted with Stevie on her first single, “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around,” is back for “I Will Run to You,” this time with all of his Heartbreakers on hand as well. Other guest performers include pianist Roy Bittan (from Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band), guitarists Waddy Wachtel, Steve Lukather (from Toto), and Don Felder (late of the Eagles), and drummer Chet McCracken (an ex-Doobie Brother) and Mick Fleetwood, a founding member of Fleetwood Mac.”


Modern Records released The Wild Heart on Friday, June 10, 1983. It debuted at number 5 on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart (7/9/1983) and spawned the Top 40 singles “Stand Back” (#5), “If Anyone Falls” (#14), and “Nightbird” (#33). In 1984, Nicks received a Grammy nomination for Best Rock Female Vocalist for “Stand Back” and an American Music Award nomination for Best Female Pop/Rock Artist. Since its release, the RIAA has certified it double platinum for the shipment of two million copies to retailers.


  1. Wild Heart
  2. If Anyone Falls
  3. Gate and Garden
  4. Enchanted
  5. Nightbird (Featuring Sandy Stewart)
  6. Stand Back
  7. I Will Run to You (Duet with Tom Petty)
  8. Nothing Ever Changes
  9. Sable on Blond
  10. Beauty and the Beast

*B-side to “Stand Back”