Home » Music » IN YOUR DREAMS (2011)


In Your Dreams is Stevie Nicks’ seventh solo album, her first since Trouble in Shangri-La in 2001. Produced by Eurythmics guitarist Dave Stewart, the album is Stevie’s most acclaimed work in many years.

The gypsy queen is in royal form on In Your Dreams, her finest collection of songs since the Eighties. —Rolling Stone

Stevie Nicks

Track List

  1. Secret Love
  2. For What’s It’s Worth
  3. In Your Dreams
  4. Wide Sargasso Sea
  5. New Orleans
  6. Moonlight (A Vampire’s Dream)
  7. Annabel Lee
  8. My Heart*
  9. A Soldier’s Angel
  10. Everybody Loves You
  11. Ghosts Are Gone
  12. You May Be the One
  13. Italian Summer
  14. Cheaper Than Free (Featuring Dave Stewart)

*Barnes & Noble edition / International edition


In writing In Your Dreams, Stevie found diverse inspirations in pop culture; writers Edgar Allan Poe and Anne Rice; the city and people of New Orleans; and recovering soldiers at military hospitals in Washington, D.C. Stevie said recording In Your Dreams was her most enjoyable time in the studio (her house in Los Angeles) since the recording of Bella Donna (1981).

New Moon: A Movie’s Inspiration

While in Brisbane, Australia on Fleetwood Mac’s 2009 Unleashed World Tour, Stevie saw the film New Moon, the second installment of the Twilight film trilogy. She found Bella’s relationship with vampire Edward to be intriguing, finding parallels to her own relationship with Lindsey Buckingham. For “Moonlight (A Vampire’s Dream),” Stevie wrote the chorus and the second verse about Bella and Edwards’ usual relationship and used the first and third verses from “The Lady from the Mountains,” a demo dating back to 1976.”

“This really is an ancient song that encompasses my strange and everlasting relationship with Lindsey Buckingham, and Bella and Edward, all mixed into one,” Stevie told AOL’s Spinner in 2010.

The song inspired Stevie to begin recording In Your Dreams, despite her feelings about Internet piracy affecting the music industry. In 2010, Stevie asked Dave Stewart to produce the album, which took about a year to complete. In subsequent interviews, Stevie often stated that her time recording with Dave was the best year of her life.


On Tuesday, May 3, 2011, Reprise Records released three versions of In Your Dreams:

  1. The standard edition, available digitally and on CD, featured 13 tracks.
  2. In the U.S., Barnes and Noble Booksellers sold a limited edition of the album with 14 songs, including the bonus track “My Heart,” a song that Nicks first recorded for Trouble in Shangri-La, but did not use. (Warner Bros. issued the same 14 tracks for the international edition of In Your Dreams.)
  3. Apple iTunes issued a deluxe digital edition, featuring downloads of the standard 13 tracks and a digital booklet with lyrics and exclusive pictures.

Reprise Records issued the single “Secret Love” on February 8, three months ahead of the album’s release. The singles “Moonlight (A Vampire’s Dream)” and “For What It’s Worth,” with accompanying music videos, followed in the months ahead. The album debuted at No. 6 on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart, her fifth Top 10 album, selling 52,000 copies in the first week.

For two years, Stevie supported the album by performing concerts in the U.S., Canada, and Australia. She also performed with Rod Stewart towards the end of the tour.

In Your Dreams Documentary

Dave Stewart captured the album’s recording sessions in the documentary Stevie Nicks: In Your Dreams. The film was screened at the Hamptons International Film Festival on October 7, 2012, the Mill Valley Film Festival on October 12, 2012, and the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas on November 7, 2012.

The DVD edition of In Your Dreams was released on Tuesday, December 3, 2013. Stevie promoted the release by attending a DVD signing event at The Grove’s Barnes & Noble in Los Angeles on Wednesday, December 4. Stevie autographed copies of the In Your Dreams DVD and CD for more than 500 fans.

Promotional Videos

News & Coverage

< Soundstage: Live in Chicago | 24 Karat Gold >