“Stevie Nicks is in top form in these sessions, providing arresting versions of favorites and delivering her trademark vocals and whirling-dervish dance moves.” —NetFlix

Soundstage: Stevie Nicks Live in Chicago (2009) is Stevie Nicks’ first concert release since Stevie Nicks Live at Red Rocks (1987). Stevie performed many of her biggest hits, such as “Dreams,” “Stand Back,” and “Edge of Seventeen.”


On October 25, 2007, Stevie Nicks recorded PBS Soundstage before a live studio audience at WTTW’s Grainger studio in Chicago. She recorded the special concert while on tour for Crystal Visions…The Very Best of Stevie Nicks, her third solo retrospective release. Stevie performed her Fleetwood Mac and solo hits and covered Dave Matthew’s “Crash into Me” and Bonnie Raitt’s “Circle Dance.” She also performed “The One,” a duet with Vanessa Carlton.

On July 17, 2008, PBS premiered the concert as a two-part special; Part 1 airing on the premiere night and Part 2 airing a week later on July 24, 2008. The network broadcast 16 of the 18 songs that Stevie performed for the concert, but omitted “Dreams” and Beauty and the Beast.” PBS also shuffled the order of the songs for the two-part special.

One of the highlights of the concert was “Sara.” According to Stevie, director Joe Thomas wrote her a cheeky, one-page letter explaining the importance of recording “Sara” for the broadcast. She agreed to perform the song, humorously referring to Thomas’ efforts as a “guilt letter.”

In 2008, Stevie and Joe worked on a CD to promote The Soundstage Sessions. They tweaked the existing recordings at Ocean Way Recording in a Nashville, adding string arrangements and new vocals.


On Tuesday, March 31, 2009, Reprise Records released Stevie Nicks Live in Chicago on DVD, with an accompanying 10-track CD, The Soundstage Sessions. On the same day, Stevie made a rare public appearance to sign autographs at Barnes and Noble in New York’s Union Square.

Different versions

There are two versions of the DVD and Blu-ray. The PBS edition, Stevie Live!, includes 16 songs from the original two-part special, but omits “Dreams” and the orchestra version of “Landslide.” The Reprise Records edition, Stevie Nicks: Live in Chicago, includes 17 of the 18 songs that Stevie performed at the concert. Strangely, neither edition contains the footage for “Beauty and the Beast,” though its audio track appears exclusively on Reprise’s accompanying 10-track CD, The Soundstage Sessions. Though PBS aired scenes during the end credits of what appears to be Stevie bowing after singing “Beauty and the Beast,” the actual performance footage remains officially unreleased.

Stevie Nicks Soundstage (2009)DVD / Blu-ray (PBS)

  1. Stand Back
  2. Enchanted
  3. If Anyone Falls in Love
  4. Rhiannon
  5. Crash Into Me
  6. Sorcerer
  7. The One (Feat. Vanessa Carlton)
  8. Gold Dust Woman
  9. I Need to Know
  10. Circle Dance
  11. Landslide
  12. Sara
  13. Fall From Grace
  14. How Still My Love
  15. Edge of Seventeen
  16. Rock & Roll

Dreams & Landslide (Orchestra Version) omitted

Stevie Nicks - The Soundstage Sessions: Live in Chicago

DVD / Blu-ray (Reprise Records)

  1. Stand Back
  2. Enchanted
  3. If Anyone Falls in Love
  4. Rhiannon
  5. Crash Into Me
  6. Dreams
  7. Sorcerer
  8. The One (Feat. Vanessa Carlton)
  9. Gold Dust Woman
  10. I Need to Know
  11. Circle Dance
  12. Landslide
  13. Sara
  14. Fall From Grace
  15. How Still My Love
  16. Edge of Seventeen
  17. Rock & Roll

Bonus track: Landslide (Orchestra Version)

The Soundstage Sessions (2009)

Bonus CD (Reprise Records)

  1. Stand Back
  2. Crash
  3. Sara
  4. If Anyone Falls in Love
  5. Landslide (Orchestra Version)
  6. How Still My Love
  7. Circle Dance
  8. Fall From Grace
  9. Sorcerer
  10. Beauty and the Beast

Produced and directed by Joe Thomas

Official Videos

News & Coverage

< Crystal Visions | In Your Dreams >